20 August 2019

Second Indonesian Winner after 28 Years

Naraajie E. Ramadhan Putra put Indonesia back on the winner’s list at the Saujana Golf and Country Club’s annual tournament. The 19-year-old became the second Indonesian ever to win the event. 
Twenty-eight years ago, Burhan Bora became the first Indonesian player to win the Saujana Amateur Championship. Now, Naraajie has raised the red and white flag once again after almost three decades.
The No. 1 Indonesian amateur didn’t just claim the trophy, he did it in style with a wire-to-wire victory in the 32nd edition of the event. After an opening round of 2-under, 70, he followed up with an impressive 6-under for 66. Under the pressure of the final round, Naraajie managed to close on 3-over, 75.
“I felt the pressure too but I stuck to my strategy and let others do the work. I’m glad it worked out,” said Naraajie, as quoted by ParGolf.
A tournament total of 5-under gave Naraajie a five-shot win over Australia’s Dylan Gardner, Taiwan’s Taichi Kho, and Malaysia’s Muhd Afif Mohd Fath and secured him his first international title. 
“There’s not much preparation for Malaysia. After fasting and Eid holidays, I just more focused on cardio because in Malaysia I would play in two consecutive weeks. The weather in Malaysia was also hot,” he explained.
After finishing third at the 117th Malaysian Amateur Open a week before, Naraajie felt confident that he could perform well at Saujana. “I wanted to win,” he said. “My game for three days was great. On the first day, I was still tired because I hadn't had time to rest. However, on the second day, I was able to fire, saving several stroke leads for the third day. The third day, I decided to play safe.”  
Naraajie's impressive game eliminated the chance of victory for his competitors, including last week's Malaysian Amateur Championship winner Lawry Flynn of Australia who was attempting to carve out back-to-back titles.  Lawry finished joint fifth with Singapore’s Low Wee Jin after shooting 217.
Saujana Amateur Championship
June 26-28, 2019
Final Results
Pos Name R1 R2 R3 Total To Par
1 Naraajie Ramadhan Putra (Ina) 70 66 75 211 -5
2 Dylan Gardner (Aus) 74 74 68 216 E
Taichi Kho (Tpe) 71 75 70 216 E
Muhd Afif Mohd Fathi (Mal) 71 74 71 216 E
5 Low Wee Jin (Sin) 74 76 67 217 +1
Lawry Flynn (Aus) 75 72 70 217 +1
A D V E R T I S E   W I T H   U S

For more information to learn about our advertising opportunities, please complete the following form: